Dear Me; A Letter Of Love To Myself

heart-159637_1280 Dear Me,

I’m writing this letter to say the things that you can’t say. That you won’t say. I’m writing this to say the things that need to be said, the things you need to hear.

You are amazing. You’ve done so many awesome things, even if you don’t think so. Take today, for instance. You got up. You got out of bed instead of hiding under the safety of your blanket, the security of a closed shade. You got up and made the decision to face the day, face your problems, and go after your dreams. Even if you didn’t realize it at the time, what you did was courageous, and it’s not something to be taken lightly.

I have to admit, I was more than a little hesitant about writing this letter, and I’d be lying if I said my palms aren’t a little sweaty. I guess because I was afraid you’d reject me. But wait, that would mean you’d be rejecting yourself. But that’s exactly what you do. You stand in front of the mirror and pick apart everything about yourself. You make a list of everything you don’t like, everything you want to change. You say that if only you were a little more of this, or a little less of that, you’d be happy, you’d have a better life. You can’t see, you REFUSE to see that changing those things wouldn’t make you’d happy, because at some point in your life, you’ve forgotten what it means to love yourself.

Let’s say for a moment that you are the ingredients of a chocolate cake. You’ve  got eggs, butter, water, sugar, flour, salt, a leavening agent, cocoa powder, and vinegar. You take a look at yourself and say you wish you didn’t have vinegar in you, but don’t you realize that without vinegar, the cake won’t taste good? Can’t you understand that without what you see as flaws and imperfections, you wouldn’t be you? You’d be someone else. You are you. And there is no one else like you. There never has been, and there never will be. You are so beautiful, so special, unique, and intricately made, why change that?

So, I’m writing this letter to say what needs to be said. I love you.

– Me.

I know this letter might seem a bit silly, but it’s something I think more of us need to do. We need to stop and take the time to realize that we are important and we need to love ourselves, imperfections and all. Even the Bible says we are to love ourselves. So, if you’ve read this and you’ve felt a prick in your heart, I want you to do something. I want you to go look in the mirror and say to yourself the three hardest words. You might be surprised by your reaction. Some of you will laugh. But more of you will cry.

Please, love yourself, and write yourself a letter of love, say the things that need to be said.

16 thoughts on “Dear Me; A Letter Of Love To Myself

      1. I get that; it was to me too. 🙂
        I had no idea it could be that hard to say three words. After the initial three words (it wasn’t aloud; my introverted self did it in my head 😂) came this flood of thoughts that bounced around inside like a bunch of caffeinated ping-pong balls: “Goodness, how could God love me? How could His Son die for me?” This was very awakening. Thanks again for the post; it was so needed right now. ♥

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on FaithWalkingHebrews11:1 and commented:
    This is a beautiful and heartfelt post that moved me to tears. We are worthy of love and many times we look for external sources instead of being loving with ourselves. I hope you enjoy the post as much as I did 🙂

    “Can’t you understand that without what you see as flaws and imperfections, you wouldn’t be you? You’d be someone else. You are you. And there is no one else like you. There never has been, and there never will be. You are so beautiful, so special, unique, and intricately made, why change that?”

    Please, love yourself, and write yourself a letter of love, say the things that need to be said.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Don’t you understand that without what you see as flaws and imperfections, you wouldn’t be you? You’d be someone else.”

    So easy to forget that every part of ourselves is what makes us.

    Beautiful post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

